Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 29
  1. #1
    Pawn
    Join Date
    02-03-2012
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

    Fis+ installation in a Leon Cupra (1P) (ANSWERED)

    Hi there

    I installed a Fis+ in my LC yesterday. The installation manuals weren't helpful in locating the CANBUS gateway so I thought I'd write a little how-to here in case anybody is interested...

    Mine is Right hand drive - but I assume on a LHD you'd just mirror-image the instructions.


    The gateway is located right up against the firewall, right at the top of the dashboard, JUUUUST visible through all the wiring behind the trim piece that covers the OBD port.



    See that bit of red blur above the bundle of wires? That's the badger. There is no way a human can get to that. So you have to go in from the other side.

    Remove the right hand wiper.

    Open the bonnet.

    Remove the rubber seal that connects the plastic rain tray cover to the metal plenum cover.

    Remove the two Torx screws holding the metal plenum cover in place, and remove the cover.

    Now the plastic rain tray cover is in the way. On my car it seemed to be glued to the bottom of the windscreen, so I bent it (it's quite flexible) to lift it up and expose the windscreen wiper motor.

    Unplug the wiring from the motor, and loosen the two torx screws holding it in place (captive screws).

    Lift the wiper motor out, and you will expose a black plastic cover with 3 10mm nuts holding it closed.

    Remove the cover, and move the noise insulation aside, and there is the gateway!

    Remove the plug from the gateway, plug in the harness. I then fed the harness down into the dash, so it was accessible from the OBD port trim hole. I don't want to have to remove the wiper to upgrade the software

    Then round to the front of the car and plug the FIS+ into the harness above the OBD port. Some double-sided tape or cable ties or similar to hold it in place if you like...

    Once everything's working, reassembly is pretty much the reverse of the above steps. Remember to plug the wiring harness back into the windscreen wiper motor...! (I didn't)
    Also, when you refit the wiper motor, there is a pin poking out of the firewall which needs to seat into a rubber grommet on the motor housing. If you don't get that in your motor will move around too much...

    Anyway, hope this helps someone!

    Cheers
    S
    Last edited by Sinbad; 12-04-2012 at 03:08 PM.

  2. #2
    Polar FIS Programmer mun100's Avatar
    Join Date
    26-02-2010
    Location
    Inside Auto-Polar
    Posts
    1,539
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 102 Times in 97 Posts
    Thank you very much for your report, I'm sure that it will be very helpful for another users ????

    Best regards.
    [ Mun100 - Programmer ]
    [ Http://www.Auto-Polar.com ]

  3. #3
    Pawn
    Join Date
    19-05-2012
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 2 Posts
    My car LEON CUPRA 1P1 model year of production in 2011, FIS + ADVANCE module does not work at all,
    Does the product FIS + ADVANCE tested on a model 1P1?
    Last edited by eltiobarbas; 24-05-2012 at 07:00 PM.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator eltiobarbas's Avatar
    Join Date
    31-05-2010
    Vehicle
    Octavia RS TFSI 2.0 (BWA)
    Posts
    1,705
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 160 Times in 152 Posts
    Can you report what is the problem in your car?

    Regards

  5. #5
    Polar FIS Programmer mun100's Avatar
    Join Date
    26-02-2010
    Location
    Inside Auto-Polar
    Posts
    1,539
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 102 Times in 97 Posts
    Hi Leon_cupra_11.

    Sorry, but looking the your car's year, it seems that your FIS is white color, in that case Polar FIS is still not compatible with it. At this moment we are working to make it compatible, so if it's your case you'll be informed here:
    http://www.auto-polar.com/forum/show...S-quot-working

    Best regards.
    [ Mun100 - Programmer ]
    [ Http://www.Auto-Polar.com ]

  6. #6
    Pawn
    Join Date
    19-05-2012
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 2 Posts
    I connect the PS3 according to installation instructions, but the vehicle's menu does not appear to me more of the POLAR menu FIS +, all original left menu as if I plugged the POLAR FIS + ADVANCE.
    Do an experiment and see that it does not work the new models LEON 1P1 CUPRA / FR ...
    Do you perform my model specific?

  7. #7
    Polar FIS Programmer mun100's Avatar
    Join Date
    26-02-2010
    Location
    Inside Auto-Polar
    Posts
    1,539
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 102 Times in 97 Posts
    Hi.

    Sorry, but I didn't understand what you mean. Can you explain it again and confirm us if your FIS screen is red or white color?

    Thanks in advance and best regards.
    [ Mun100 - Programmer ]
    [ Http://www.Auto-Polar.com ]

  8. #8
    Pawn
    Join Date
    12-12-2011
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I think that he has a white fis
    When we tried the red fis polar on my car there was no effect. No new menu was created with polarfis info

  9. #9
    Super Moderator eltiobarbas's Avatar
    Join Date
    31-05-2010
    Vehicle
    Octavia RS TFSI 2.0 (BWA)
    Posts
    1,705
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 160 Times in 152 Posts
    if you take a picture of your FIS or a vagcom log and upload to the forum we can see if you have a white fis or not.

    Regards

  10. #10
    Pawn
    Join Date
    19-05-2012
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 2 Posts
    My FIS screen is white color,
    Waiting for updates!
    Thank you!
    Last edited by Leon_cupra_11; 25-05-2012 at 07:29 PM.

  11. #11
    Pawn
    Join Date
    01-08-2012
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hola. Estoy interesado en un fis+ advanced.

    Es compatible para un Seat Leon Cupra tfsi del ao 2007?

    El fis es de color rojo.

    Saludos y gracias

  12. #12
    Super Moderator eltiobarbas's Avatar
    Join Date
    31-05-2010
    Vehicle
    Octavia RS TFSI 2.0 (BWA)
    Posts
    1,705
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 160 Times in 152 Posts
    Hola, si tienes este fs si es compatible .

    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1343835198.151812.jpg
    -----656C74696F626172626173-----

  13. #13
    Pawn
    Join Date
    01-08-2012
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    ok.
    A por el entonces.
    Muchas gracias, fenmeno.
    Saludos!!

  14. #14
    Pawn
    Join Date
    19-05-2012
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 2 Posts
    New software with a white screen works great!
    CAR MODEL SEAT LEON CUPRA 2011 1P1!!!
    Thanks!!!

  15. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Leon_cupra_11 For This Useful Post:

    eltiobarbas (06-11-2012),serpasoria (06-11-2012),wendigo (06-11-2012)

  16. #15
    Super Moderator eltiobarbas's Avatar
    Join Date
    31-05-2010
    Vehicle
    Octavia RS TFSI 2.0 (BWA)
    Posts
    1,705
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 160 Times in 152 Posts
    Thanks for your words. Enjoy your Polar Fis.
    Regards
    -----656C74696F626172626173-----

  17. #16
    Super Moderator wendigo's Avatar
    Join Date
    26-02-2010
    Location
    PolarFIS MCU
    Vehicle
    Golf VI 2011
    Posts
    799
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 77 Times in 43 Posts
    Os dejo por aqui 3 videos, cada uno funcionando en un tipo de cuadro distinto
    Por si a alguien aun le queda alguna duda de si funciona o no, aqui teneis los videos.

    Cuadro FIS rojo (Mk5) (funcionando en un VW Golf Mk5, distribuidor de Italia)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9QvzC...eature=related

    Cuadro FIS blanco (Mk6) (funcionando en un Golf6, cliente de Huesca, Espaa)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=5sq_2rXDzmc

    Cuadro FIS color (Mk6) (funcionando en un Golf6 GTI, cliente de Italia)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=frqC7lRga5Q

  18. The Following User Says Thank You to wendigo For This Useful Post:

    eltiobarbas (06-11-2012)

  19. #17
    Super Moderator serpasoria's Avatar
    Join Date
    07-05-2010
    Location
    vicar - Almeria
    Vehicle
    Skoda Octavia RS TDI With Polar Fis advanced
    Posts
    679
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 57 Times in 45 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Leon_cupra_11 View Post
    New software with a white screen works great!
    CAR MODEL SEAT LEON CUPRA 2011 1P1!!!
    Thanks!!!
    Thank you for share with us, now enjoy the polar fis !!!

    Would a photo be possible?

    Thank you !!
    SKODA RS TDI 170 CV, 9/ 2008



    Serpa .



  20. #18
    Pawn
    Join Date
    11-11-2012
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Sinbad View Post
    Hi there

    I installed a Fis+ in my LC yesterday. The installation manuals weren't helpful in locating the CANBUS gateway so I thought I'd write a little how-to here in case anybody is interested...

    Mine is Right hand drive - but I assume on a LHD you'd just mirror-image the instructions.


    The gateway is located right up against the firewall, right at the top of the dashboard, JUUUUST visible through all the wiring behind the trim piece that covers the OBD port.



    See that bit of red blur above the bundle of wires? That's the badger. There is no way a human can get to that. So you have to go in from the other side.

    Remove the right hand wiper.

    Open the bonnet.

    Remove the rubber seal that connects the plastic rain tray cover to the metal plenum cover.

    Remove the two Torx screws holding the metal plenum cover in place, and remove the cover.

    Now the plastic rain tray cover is in the way. On my car it seemed to be glued to the bottom of the windscreen, so I bent it (it's quite flexible) to lift it up and expose the windscreen wiper motor.

    Unplug the wiring from the motor, and loosen the two torx screws holding it in place (captive screws).

    Lift the wiper motor out, and you will expose a black plastic cover with 3 10mm nuts holding it closed.

    Remove the cover, and move the noise insulation aside, and there is the gateway!

    Remove the plug from the gateway, plug in the harness. I then fed the harness down into the dash, so it was accessible from the OBD port trim hole. I don't want to have to remove the wiper to upgrade the software

    Then round to the front of the car and plug the FIS+ into the harness above the OBD port. Some double-sided tape or cable ties or similar to hold it in place if you like...

    Once everything's working, reassembly is pretty much the reverse of the above steps. Remember to plug the wiring harness back into the windscreen wiper motor...! (I didn't)
    Also, when you refit the wiper motor, there is a pin poking out of the firewall which needs to seat into a rubber grommet on the motor housing. If you don't get that in your motor will move around too much...

    Anyway, hope this helps someone!

    Cheers
    S
    Very helpfull thanks for the info.

    My car is LHD, I was considering to place the module just behind the back cover and place a USB extender to the glovebox so as future updates can be done...

    I tried once to remove the plastic surronding on the wipers but it was stick on place, no way to remove that cover.

    Do you have oil temp value? And oil level value?

    Do you need VAG-COM to configure something?

    Best regards and thanks.

  21. #19
    Pawn
    Join Date
    02-03-2012
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kurfus View Post
    Very helpfull thanks for the info.

    My car is LHD, I was considering to place the module just behind the back cover and place a USB extender to the glovebox so as future updates can be done...

    I tried once to remove the plastic surronding on the wipers but it was stick on place, no way to remove that cover.

    Do you have oil temp value? And oil level value?

    Do you need VAG-COM to configure something?

    Best regards and thanks.
    Hi
    My 1p does not have oil level and temperature sensors.

    Apparently the cover does come off if you pull hard enough. I didn't, I bent it up and wedged it behind the bonnet.
    Don't know the layout of left hand drive. If its the same as rhd, then the USB extender is a good idea

  22. #20
    Pawn
    Join Date
    11-11-2012
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Sinbad View Post
    Hi
    My 1p does not have oil level and temperature sensors.

    Apparently the cover does come off if you pull hard enough. I didn't, I bent it up and wedged it behind the bonnet.
    Don't know the layout of left hand drive. If its the same as rhd, then the USB extender is a good idea
    So, you are not able to see oil temp on your polar fis then?? I do not have sensor neither.

    Thanks!!

  23. #21
    Pawn
    Join Date
    24-09-2011
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    I have a 2007 Seat Leon Cupra.

    My car doesn't have the TOG Sensor either so I can't view Oil Temperature via my FIS+ Advanced.

    It's not a straight forward retro fit either unfortunately.

    On my RHD car I fit my FIS from inside, not from the front. Not the easiest job I admit, but it was possible.

  24. #22
    Super Moderator wendigo's Avatar
    Join Date
    26-02-2010
    Location
    PolarFIS MCU
    Vehicle
    Golf VI 2011
    Posts
    799
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 77 Times in 43 Posts
    Will prepare a section in forum for installation in different cars.
    Soon will be available ...

  25. #23

  26. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Leon_cupra_11 For This Useful Post:

    eltiobarbas (02-12-2012),Lebowsky (03-12-2012),wendigo (03-12-2012)

  27. #24
    Super Moderator eltiobarbas's Avatar
    Join Date
    31-05-2010
    Vehicle
    Octavia RS TFSI 2.0 (BWA)
    Posts
    1,705
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 160 Times in 152 Posts
    Thanks for the videos.
    Regards
    -----656C74696F626172626173-----

  28. #25
    Pawn
    Join Date
    11-11-2012
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hello All, I can see oil temp in Leon Cupra 11 videos, I thought it wasn't possible on the Cupra?


 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •